Incident / Accident Reports

Availability


Incident/Offense reports and Accident reports generated by Athens Police Department are available from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday. There is a $5 fee for each report provided.
  • Incident reports are only released to the victims of the incident or offense reported.
  • Copies of Accident reports are only released to those persons involved in the traffic collision.
Police Officer Car Decal on the door of a car

Compensation for Vehicle Injury


The Safety Responsibility (SR-31) form (PDF) is a new form that went into effect in 2013. It replaces the SR-13 previously required by the Alabama Department of Public Safety. The new form has been simplified significantly. It is only required only if a motor vehicle accident occurring in Alabama, caused death, personal injury, or property damage to any one owner in excess of $500 by an uninsured motorist. You can only file this form if you have not been compensated for your injuries or losses.